Scientists  |  Graduate  |  Undergraduate | High School |  Admin | Collaborators |  Degree Committee  |  Alumni

Sai Ravela, Director --
Nonlinear Dynamics and Chaos, Stochastic Systems,  Optimization and Learning, Autonomous Observatories, and Computational Intelligence for Earth, Planets, Climate, and Life

Visiting Scientists and Postdoctoral Associates

Prof. Joaquin Salas -- Computer Vision and Sustainability.
Dr. ​William Rodi -- Seismology, Uncertainty, and Inversion.

Dr. Michael Barbehenn, Ecological Informatics, and Statistical Inference.

Dr. Anamitra Saha -- Flood Extremes and Climate, Physically-driven Machine Learning

  • Dr. Samiya Alkhairy, Estimation & Control, Analytic Methods.

Dr. Jiangchao Qiu (Incoming Postdoc, 2023)  – Hydrological and Hydrodynamic Simulation, Compound Hydrometeorology Extremes Analytics, Natural Hazards, and Climate.

Graduate Students

Lubna AlBarghouty (Course XII), Nuclear Explosion Monitoring and Informative Inference
Goran Zivanovic (Course VI), Exoplanet Detection and Machine Learning

Undergraduate Students

Erina Yamaguchi (Course XVI), Adaptive Ensemble Control

Thelonious (Theo) Cooper (Course VI), Embedded Systems for Autonomy, Music Recognition
Ziwei (Grace) Jiang (Course VI), Image Recognition Architectures, Distributed Image Recognition
Tasmeem Reza (Course XVIII-C), Analytic Methods for Estimation and Control

​High-School Students


Diego Luca Gonzalez Gauss, Machine Learning and Extreme Floods

Vivian Ngyuen, Image Recognition for Animal Biometrics and Conservation



Administrative Staff

  • Jaga Purevsuren, Senior Financial Assistant
  • Alma Pellecer, Administrative Assistant


  • Andreas Prein, NCAR
  • Delaine Reiter, Applied Research Associates
  • Dagoberto Pulido IPN, Mexico
  • Dennis Bernstein, Adaptive Control, University of Michigan
  • Auroop Ganguly, Machine Learning and Sustainability, NEU
  • Sara Seager, Machine Learning and Exoplanets, MIT
  • Dirk Smit, Machine Learning and Super-resolution, Shell
  • Brent Minchew, Glacier/Ice Observation
  • Paul O Gorman, Atmospheric Dynamics, and Learning
  • Kerry Emanuel, Hurricane Risk
  • John Marshall, Ocean Modeling and Fluid Laboratory
  • Tom Reynolds and Fulvio Fabrizi, Machine Learning and Long-Range Forecasting, Lincoln Laboratory
  • Balu Nadiga, Dynamics and Machine Learning, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Ziwei Li  -- Predictability and Learning

Phd Committee

  • Ammar Alali (EAPS)
  • Shiqing Liu (CEE)
  • Rachel Price (Aero-Astro)
  • Lubna AlBarghouty -- Research Advisee
  • Goran Zivanovic (EECS) -- Research Advisee


  • Aarti Dwivedi-- Full Waveform Inversion and Machine Learning
  • Grace Tian (Course XVIII),  Analytic Methods for Estimation and Control
  • Mehrab Jamee
  • Nishant Yadav (NEU, CEE)
  • Zhuchang Zhan (EAPS)
  • Amro Alshareef, Barrier Films, Medical Devices, Unmanned Aircraft Systems
  • Fiyifolu Adebekun -- Learning Dynamics from Data
  • Ashley Chen -- Information and Sparsity
  • Juliana Chew -- Deep Learning for Flood Detection and Inundation Mapping
  • Jacob Edison, Research Assistant  -- Hybrid Engine Design
  • Dongjoon Lee, Research Assistant  -- Hybird UAS Design, Dynamics 
  • Abdelazeez Salim, Research Assistant -- Adaptive Control
  • Ammar Alali, Research Assistant  -- Energy Systems and Learning
  • Elizabeth Basha, EECS => University of the Pacific
  • Kshitij Bakliwal, Purdue University
  • Scott Bowman, Research Associate
  • Timothy Langlois, Lincoln Laboratory, Cornell, Adobe
  • Clea Denamiel, Post-Doctoral Research Associate
  • Sara Davila, Research Intern -- Climate Risk
  • Emily Pitts, EECS
  • Joshua Runge, EECS
  • Fernando Shao, Mathematics=> Stanford, Oxford
  • John Williams, EAPS
  • Chris Yang, EECS
  • Jeff Castillo, Aero Astro, Research Associate
  • James Duyck, Math and Computer Science (Research Associate) => CMU => Google
  • Chelsea Finn, EECS (Research Associate)=> Berkeley=> Google=>Stanford
  • Alex Grossman, Research Assistant  -- Learning Long-Range Weather Prediction and Causal Discovery
  • Elyud Ismail, Mechanical Engineering, Research Associate
  • Samiya Al Khairy, Postdoctoral Researcher -- Information Theoretic Inference
  • Amira Malik, Research Assistant  -- Stratoro Dynamics and Control
  • Gabriel Margolis -- Bayesian Deep Learning; MIT
  • Shoshana Marks, Research Assistant -- Tiltrotor Dynamics and Control
  • Joshua Mitteldorf, Visiting Scientist
  • Meghana Ranganathan, Graduate Advisee
  • Sonia Reilly, Research Associate
  • Nick Roberts, Aero Astro, Research Associate
  • Christoph Schultheiss, Research Assistant => ETH
  • Yuvraj Sehgal, Pilot 
  • Hans Seybold, Post-Doctoral Research Associate => ETH
  • Piyush Tagade, Post-Doctoral Research Associate => Samsung India
  • Navi Tansaraviput, Researh Assistant
  • Margaret Trautner, Research Assistant  -- Neural System Dynamics and Optimization; Caltech
  • Mihir Trivedi, Research Assistant  -- SkyCandy Ensemble Control 
  • Caitlyn Wheatley, Aero Astro, Research Associate
  • Katelyn Wolfenberger, Mechanical Engineering, Research Associate
  • Randy Westlund, Systems Engineer


The people who directly or indirectly have influenced the development of ESSG
  • Prof. Maria Zuber, VP of Research
  • Prof. Rob van der Hilst, Chair of the Department
  • Prof. Kerry Emanuel, Atmospheric Dynamics
  • Prof. John Marshall, Oceanography
  • Prof. Jon How, Aero-Astro
  • Prof. Dennis McLaughlin, Hydrology
  • Prof. Youssef Marzouk, Director, Center for Computational Engineering
  • Prof. Laurent Demanet, Director, Earth Resources Laboratory
  • Prof. Bill Freeman, Computer Vision
  • Prof. Alan Willsky, Stochastic Systems
  • Prof. Allen Hanson, Computer Vision 
  • Prof. Bruce Croft, Information Retrieval
  • Prof. Rod Grupen, Robotics
  • Prof. M J S Rangachar, Electrical and Communication Engineering